Important! Please Read
The information on this site is provided as a service and should not be construed as legal or non-legal advice.
Users needing legal advice are strongly encouraged to seek the services of a qualified attorney.
How do I find a Lawyer?
Find-A-Lawyer is the Colorado Bar Association's Online Attorney Member Directory. It is one way you can begin your search for a Colorado lawyer. The directory allows you to search by practice area, name, and location.
Find-A-Lawyer is the Colorado Bar Association's Online Attorney Member Directory. It is one way you can begin your search for a Colorado lawyer.
The directory allows you to search by practice area, name, and location.
Scholarly information at your fingertips.
With Google Scholar you can "search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."
This guide provides information regarding workers' compensation laws and rights in Colorado. Workers' comp is provided by the employer to the employee in the event of an on the job injury or disability. It provides wages and medical benefits for the employee during the time off needed for recovery.
Workers' compensation laws are generally under the jurisdiction of the states. Federal workers’ comp laws apply in only four circumstances.
- Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program (EEOICP) - This provides lump sum compensation payments for eligible persons employed with the Department of Energy working on nuclear weapons.
- Federal Employees' Compensation Act - This act provides compensation and medical benefits for federal and postal employees.
- Division of Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation (DLHWC) - This covers persons employed oversees on military bases and employees working under contract with the U.S. government for national defense or public works. It also covers persons employed in jobs occurring in "navigable waters of the United States, or in adjoining areas customarily used in the loading, unloading, repairing, or building of a vessel."
- Black Lung Benefits Program - Provides compensation for coal miners totally disabled from working in the mines.
The guide identifies key areas and related resources, including references to both print and free on-line resources. Please remember that this guide is not an exhaustive list of materials or resources.
Searching the Web with Google
Google provides an easy to use search engine for finding information on the Internet. For example, you could search for "Workers' Compensation Colorado" to pull up some of the resources that are listed elsewhere in this guide. When using Google, or any other search engine, it is important to remember that you will find both reliable and unreliable sources of information. The following questions will help you evaluate the reliability of information you find online.
Is it an official government website? State and federal government websites generally include reliable information. Examples include websites hosted by state and federal agencies, courts, legislatures, etc. If the site's domain name ends in .gov, you can likely trust the information you find.
- Does the website provide information about its creators and its purpose? If detailed information about the site’s purpose and its creators is not provided, treat the site and its information with suspicion.
- Is it a website for a well known non-profit or non-governmental organization (NGO)? Like government websites, well known non-profits and NGOs generally have reliable websites. If the site’s domain name ends in .org, you can probably trust the information you find.
- Is contact information provided? Reputable organizations will provide a phone number or email address so that you can contact them for more information. If contact information is vague or is not included, be wary of the resources on that site.
- Does the website’s content show an obvious bias or agenda? Information contained on websites designed to influence opinion or cater to a specific group, political party, or movement, may or may not be reliable. For these types of websites, it is advisable to further research your topic to verify the accuracy and veracity of the information you’ve found.
- Is the information current? Can you tell when the information was last updated? A good website will make this obvious. If you can’t tell, it’s better to look elsewhere.