This is the "Home" page of the "Colorado Law Project: Google Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Colorado Law Project: Google Scholar   Tags: google, search strategies  

Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.law.du.edu/googlescholarclp Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Important! Please Read

The information on this site is provided as a service and should not be construed as legal or non-legal advice.  Users needing legal advice are strongly encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney.

 

Introduction

This guide’s purpose is to aid users in utilizing the Google Scholar search engine. Google Scholar covers a wide range of content areas. Similar to its traditional search engine, Google Scholar ranks and lists results according to relevancy.

 

Google Scholar retrieves its results from a separate database than traditional Google searches. Google Scholar includes articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions in its results list. This information is retrieved from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other sites. Much of the information provided is not available for free and the search results only include the citation and a link to an abstract of the article or publication. However, case law and court opinions are free and readily accessible from the results list.   

 

This guide discusses searching techniques and strategies. It also provides information on various tools available through Google Scholar. Please remember that this guide is not exhaustive and does not cover all the features of Google Scholar.

 

Google Scholar Coverage

Google Scholar, under its “legal opinions and journals” option covers federal and state case law, as well as legal journal articles. Legal opinions may be found in Google’s own database or via a link to an alternative source such as Cornell’s LII, Justia, or Public.Resource.org.

 

As of 2011, Google Scholar had the following case law coverage:

            U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950

            U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791

            Citations for cases cited by indexed opinions or journal articles, which are not yet online or publicly available

Search Google Scholar



Get Help!

Profile Image
Reference Desk
Contact Info
University of Denver
Sturm College of Law
Westminister Law Library
2255 E. Evans Ave, Ste 212
Phone: 303-871-6206
Email: refdesk@law.du.edu
Send Email
 

Comments and Suggestions

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip