Database Access
Many resources listed in these guides require University of Denver or University of Denver Sturm College of Law IP addresses for access. Other resources, such as Westlaw and Lexis, require individual user accounts and passwords.
Free Online Resources
- American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
- American Bar Association: Discussion Groups and Email Lists
- American Bar Association: Family Law
- American Bar Association: Family Law FAQs
- American Bar Association: Family Law Quarterly
- Cornell Legal Information Institute: Family Law`
- Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website
- FindLaw: Family Law Center
- HG.org: Family Law
- International Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
- Megalaw.com: Family Law
- Nolo: Divorce and Family Law
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Subjects/Keywords
Domestic Relations materials are generally found between call numbers KF 501-553.
Introduction
This guide’s purpose is to aid law students and practitioners in researching Family Law, also known as Domestic Relations. The guide identifies key resources for those interested in the topic and includes both print and free online resources. The subjects/keywords and call numbers are hyperlinked to the library’s catalog. Please remember that this guide is not an exhaustive list of materials or resources but is instead meant to be a starting point for your research.
Print Resources
Databases
- HeinOnlineLook under the journals and state laws for family law information.
- LegalTrac"Provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals offers law students, faculty and legal researchers the publications they need for their research and practicum. Each title included is selected on the basis of criteria provided the American Association of Law Libraries."
- LexisNexis Research by Area of Law: Family LawFrom the search tab, search by Area of Law-Topic and choose Family Law.
- Westlaw: Family LawClick on Directory at the top of the screen once you are in the database. Then click on Topical Practice Areas, then on Family Law
Family Law: Law Professor Blog
Research Guide |
Contact Info University of Denver Sturm College of Law Westminister Law Library 2255 E. Evans Ave, Ste 212 Pnone: 303-871-6206 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Comments and Suggestions
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides access to online legal opinions from the Supreme Court, federal courts, and state courts. After going to Google Scholar, click on "Legal opinions and journals" below the search bar.

Loading...
Loading...
