This is the "Library User Tips" page of the "1L Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

1L Guide   Tags: law students; first year; 1l  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2012 URL: http://libguides.law.du.edu/1LGuide Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Library User Tips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide will aid new law students in preparing for the first year of law school. It includes information about the library and its website; useful books, a/v materials, and electronic resources; pertinent CALI lessons; and more. This guide is not all-inclusive and additional resources can be found through the library's website and catalog. The call numbers referred to relate specifically to the collection at the Westminster Law Library.

How to Search the Library's Catalog

You can search the law library's catalog from the homepage and undertake a keyword, title, author, subject, or call number search (first link below).

You can undertake a more sophisticated search by accessing the law library's catalog home page (second link below).

How to Access a Database

You can access the databases from the law library's homepage using the drop down menu labeled "Legal Databases" (first link below). You can select one of the most frequently used databases or click on "all databases" to retrieve the full list (second link below).

Research Guides

The law librarians have created a number of research guides. Some guides are in paper format and others are in electronic format. The librarians are currently in the process of migrating all paper guides to electronic guides.

These guides are arranged by subject. If you are not finding what you need, do not hesitate to ask one of the librarians for help.

You can access the research guides at the below link.

Submit a Reference Question

If you need assistance, please visit the reference desk in person on the third floor of the library or submit a question online through the link below. The law librarians are here to assist you throughout your time in law school. Do not hesitate to seek them out.

 

Welcome

How to Access Course Reserves

Many faculty place materials on course reserves with the library. These items generally circulate for 2 hours with the option to renew. You can access course reserves from the library's homepage by clicking on "more" under the "library services" menu on the left. You can also access the list of course reserves at the below link.

How to Access the Exams Database

Faculty may place old exams in the exams database. You can access the exams database from the library's homepage by clicking on "exams" under the "library services" menu on the left or by clicking on the below link.

How to Use the E-Journal Locator

The E-Journals feature allows you to look up a journal and determine where it can be accessed electronically, including the dates of coverage in each particular database from which it is available.

Law Library's Hearsay Blog

The law library's Hearsay Blog provides news and information about the law library's activities and resources. Visit the link below to check out the blog and consider subscribing to it via email. 

Research Guide

Profile Image
Reference Desk
Contact Info
University of Denver
Sturm College of Law
Westminister Law Library
2255 E. Evans Ave, Ste 212
Pnone: 303-871-6206
Send Email
 

Comments and Suggestions

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip